Three home games in Ranji quarters

Three home games in Ranji quarters


Mumbai applaud after sealing their 40th Ranji triumph, Mumbai v Saurashtra, Ranji Trophy, final, 3rd day, Jan 28, 2013

There has been copiousness of speak of personification a Ranji Trophy knockouts during neutral venues yet that came to an finish on Thursday with a BCCI confirming that 3 of a quarterfinalists will get home games.

While announcing a pull for knockout stage, a BCCI announced that a Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore, Eden Gardens in Kolkata and Moti Bagh belligerent in Vadodara will horde a Ranji Trophy quarterfinals, to be played from Jan 8 to 12. The initial 3 venues will horde a diversion involving a analogous home team.

The preference went opposite a direct uttered during a captains’ and coaches’ conclave during a finish of a final domestic season. Offspinner Harbhajan Singh had also supported a thought of personification knockout games during neutral venues following Punjab’s
tame pull opposite Jharkhand in Jamshedpur during final year’s quarter-final played on a peaceful pitch.

The technical committee, headed by former India captain Anil Kumble, had discussed a judgment in fact on Mar 22.

On Thursday, Ratnakar Shetty, BCCI ubiquitous manager – diversion development, told ESPNcricinfo that a preference to play knockouts during neutral venues was never made. “This was one of a issues that was discussed threadbare. And during a finish of it, it was motionless that a authority of technical cabinet will be consulted with while finalising a list of
potential venues for hosting a knockout games,” Shetty said. “So it was always going to be a box of pre-decided or BCCI-decided venues, and not neutral venues.”

Elaborating on a motive behind personification matches during pre-decided venues, Shetty pronounced a judgment was to play all critical games on “sporting pitches monitored by BCCI curators”. As a result, curators of 10 drift – Mumbai, Bangalore, Kolkata, Vadodara, Mohali, Indore, Hyderabad, Lahli, Jaipur and Mysore – had been asked to start scheming a wicket “almost 3 weeks ago”.

Since a finalisation of a a venues, Daljit Singh, conduct of BCCI’s drift and pitches committee, has been in Kolkata overseeing a track’s preparation. The maestro curator is scheduled to fly to Mumbai from Kolkata while PR Viswanathan, a South Zone deputy in a committee, has been stationed in Bangalore. Similarly, Dhiraj Parsana will be in Vadodara compartment a quarterfinal gets underway.

One of a quarterfinals will be played during a neutral venue, with Punjab and Jammu Kashmir confronting off during a Moti Bagh belligerent in Vadodara. “Since 3 of a 4 quarterfinals have home venues, we didn’t have to do too most of manoeuvring,” Shetty said. “If Punjab make it to a semis, they will also have an event to play during home.”

The quarterfinal choice pits Bengal and Railways opposite any other yet they were both in organisation B in a joining phase. Shetty explained that a strife of dual teams in a same organisation was unavoidable due to a format of a draw. “Last year’s semi-finalists are always given seeding, with a tip dual set to play a dual teams from Group C. Since usually dual teams from final year’s tip 4 had competent for a knockouts, a rest of a positions were motionless due to pull of lots.”

Knockout schedule:

Quarterfinals (January 8 to 12)
1. Mumbai v Maharashtra – Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai (to be telecast live)
2. Bengal v Railways – Eden Gardens, Kolkata
3. Karnataka v Uttar Pradesh – M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore
4. Punjab v Jammu Kashmir – Motibaug, Baroda

Semifinals (January 18 to 22)
Winner of 1 v Winner of 2 – Holkar Stadium, Indore
Winner of 3 v Winner of 4 – PCA Stadium, Mohali (to be telecast live)

Final (January 29 to Feb 2)
Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Uppal, Hyderabad (to be telecast live)

Article source: